Skip Navigation

Brittain Award

The Marion Luther Brittain Award is presented each year to two graduating students, one graduate and one undergraduate, from any of the nine academic divisions of the University who are considered to have performed the most “significant, meritorious and devoted service to Emory University, with no expectations of recognition or reward.” The award is made under provisions of a gift by the late Dr. M. L. Brittain, former President of Georgia Institute of Technology and alumnus of Emory. The Brittain Award is generally acknowledged to be the highest honor given to a student by Emory University.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2018 Brittain Award are now open! Nominations must be returned by Friday, February 9, 2018, and nominees must be fall 2017 or spring 2018 graduates. The following nomination form should be used, although you are invited to provide supplemental materials if you desire. Nomination letters may also be delivered to Adrienne Little-Dunson in Emory Campus Life: DUC / Suite 409E, sent via campus mail: DUC / Drawer PP, or emailed directly to:

A thorough nomination enhances the review of a candidate’s merits. Each student nominated will be considered by a selection committee that will determine the Brittain Award recipient. For additional information, please call 404.727.7190.

For more information on nominations and requirements, click here.