Alumni Board News

The Emory Alumni Board (EAB) gathered at Miller-Ward Alumni House during Homecoming Weekend in September to welcome nine new members and plan for the coming year. 


The newest members 
of the Emory Alumni Board (top, from left): Jonathan Butler 96C, Daniel Thompson 01OX 03C 08PH, Emily Allen 06OX 08C, Steve Greenfield 04EvMBA, Julia Emmons 73G 84PhD, Paul Orser 71G 74PhD, Helen Ngo 06OX 09C, and Debra Houry 94C; not pictured: Della Wells 86L.


EAB Scholarship Recipients Lurit Bepo 16M (left) and Jessica Hirst 15N. Photos by Tom Brodnax 65OX 68C.

Under the leadership of incoming EAB president Doug Shipman 95C, the board wil continue its focus this year on Emory's scholarship endowment initiative, increased alumni visibility on campus and in the regions, and building a leadership pipeline that will ensure the continued success and growth of the university, while reflecting the diversity of its student and alumni bodies. 

The Emory Alumni Board Leadership Scholarship, created in 2007, recognizes students whose actions, beliefs, and passions have improved the community in the arts or sciences, in academic or extracurricular pursuits, or through mentorship, social outreach, or other avenues.

The 2014–2015 recipients are Lurit Bepo 16M, a student in the School of Medicine and president of Emory’s Student National Medical Association, which focuses on mentoring and supporting under-represented minority medical and premedical students in local communities; and Jessica Hirst 15N, an undergraduate in the School of Nursing and a leader with Best Buddies, an international organization that aims to form close peer friendships with individuals who have developmental or intellectual disabilities.   

Email the editor