New Dean for Goizueta

Lawrence Benveniste, dean of the Carlson School of Management and U.S. Bancorp Professor in Finance at the University of Minnesota, will assume the deanship of Goizueta Business School on July 1.

“Larry has the ideal combination of experience, vision, drive, and business acumen to lead Goizueta during the next phase of its history,” says Provost Earl Lewis. “He is an excellent successor to Tom Robertson.”

Robertson has taken a new position assisting President James W. Wagner in raising Emory’s international profile through the ongoing strategic planning process and beyond.

“As Dean Robertson steps into his new role, we are indeed most fortunate for have Larry Benveniste come to us,” Wagner says. “He has a clear understanding of Goizueta’s potential and core values, as well as an appreciation for the vital role the school plays in the larger University.”

Maryam Alavi, John M. and Lucy Cook Chair in Information Strategy and chair of the Goizueta dean search committee, will serve as the school’s interim dean during the spring semester.

Before his 2001 appointment as dean for the Carlson School, Benveniste held the positions of interim dean, associate dean of faculty and research, and chair of the finance department. He came to the Carlson School from Boston College. Benveniste also has been a staff economist for the board of governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington, D.C., where he helped to develop significant regulatory initiatives, including risk-based capital, which monitors the equity value of commercial banks to protect the deposit insurance system.

Benveniste, who received his doctorate in mathematics from the University of California at Berkeley and his bachelor’s degree from University of California at Irvine, calls Goizueta a “rising star.”

“I look forward,” he says, “to being a part of its continued growth, building on Dean Robertson’s success in recruiting world-class faculty and students, and partnering with the great business community of Atlanta.”







© 2005 Emory University