COMMENCEMENT 2004: Faculty Awards

The University Scholar/Teacher Award was given to Associate Research Professor of Nursing Laura Porter Kimble–an announcement that was greeted with cheers from the nursing graduates. Kimble (above) developed Emory’s emergency nurse practitioner program, one of only two such programs in the country. She works with undergraduate and doctoral students as a teacher and adviser, has served as interim program coordinator of the Ph.D. in nursing program, and is associate director of the Center for Symptoms, Symptom Interaction, and Health Outcomes.

The Thomas Jefferson Award, given to a faculty member or administrator for service to the University, was presented to Thomas Samuel Burns, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Late Ancient and Medieval History. Burns (left), a scholar and teacher at Emory for thirty years, has served as a member–and often chaired–every major college and University committee for which he was eligible, always “comporting himself by the highest ethical standards,” according to colleagues.

Other faculty awards included the George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring, given to Judith Campbell Rohrer, associate professor of art history. The Emory Williams Award for Distinguished Teaching, established in 1972 by Emory Williams ’32C, was given to: Fereydoon Family, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Physics; Mark Risjord, associate professor of philosophy; Carrie Rosefsky Wickham, associate professor of political science; Mohammad Reza Saadein, associate professor of chemistry at Oxford; Mary Allison Burdette, assistant professor of the practice of business law at Goizueta; Joyce L. King, assistant professor of nursing; and Nanette K. Wenger, professor of medicine.–M.J.L.

Return to Commencement 2004 story

Oxford Commencement

Student Awards


EM Summer 2004



Emory Weekend

Alumni in Africa


Alumni Authors





© 2004 Emory University