2007 Faculty Awards and Honors

Director of forensics Melissa Maxcy Wade 72C 76G 96T 00T (left), an educational studies faculty member and founder of the Urban Debate League, received the Thomas Jefferson Award, which is presented to a faculty member or administrative officer in recognition of significant service to the University.

Peter J. Brown, professor of anthropology and director of Emory’s Center for Health, Culture, and Society, received the University Scholar/Teacher Award, chosen by Emory faculty on behalf of the United Methodist Church Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

Pat Marsteller, senior lecturer in biology and director of the Center for Science Education, received the George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring, established in 1997 by trustee John T. Glover.

Seven Emory professors received the Emory Williams Award for Distinguished Teaching. The University’s most prestigious awards for teaching were established in 1972 by trustee emeritus Emory Williams 32C.

The 2007 recipients of the Emory Williams Award are: Elizabeth Pastan, associate professor of art history, Emory College; Gray Crouse, professor of biology, Emory College; David L. Petersen, professor of Old Testament, Candler School of Theology; Nancy J. Thompson, associate professor of behavioral sciences and health education, Rollins School of Public Health; Linton C. Hopkins, professor of neurology, School of Medicine; William Shapiro, professor of political science, Oxford College; Michael W. Neville, associate professor of adult and elder health nursing, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing; Clifton Green, associate professor of finance, Goizueta Business School; David J. Bederman, professor of law, School of Law.



© 2007 Emory University