Honoring great teachers

The University's most prestigious awards for teaching were established in 1972 by Emory Williams, a 1932 graduate of the College. The three recipients in the arts and sciences are determined by a vote of Emory College alumni who graduated two and five years ago. The fourth award rotates among the professional schools. The 1997 recipients of the Emory Williams Awards are (from left) Deborah Lipstadt, Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish and Holocaust Studies; Ronald Calabrese, professor of biology; Kenneth Stein, professor of Near Eastern history and political science; and Richard Freer, the Robert Howell Hall Professor of Civil Procedure.

Photos by Kay Hinton and Annemarie Poyo

Return to main story.

Return to Summer 1997 contents page.

Return to Emory Magazine home page.