Law school names four distinguished alumni

Two judges and two litigators noted for their outstanding contributions to the legal profession have received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the School of Law. They include (left to right): A. Paul Cadenhead `49L, counsel to Fellows, Johnson, Davis & La Briola; Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Patricia D. McMahon `68L; Fulton County Superior Court Judge Thelma Wyatt Cummings Moore `71L; and C. B. Rogers `53L, founding partner of Rogers & Hardin. Cadenhead has had a long and distinguished trial practice in areas as diverse as fraud and criminal prosecution of public officials, insurance defense work in catastrophic injury cases, legal malpractice defense and family law. Elected to the judgeship in 1987 and re-elected in 1993, McMahon also has presided in the Criminal Division, including the Homicide/Sexual Assault Speedy Trial Court. A judge on the Superior Court of Fulton County since 1990, Moore previously sat on the State Court of Fulton County (1985-90), the City Court of Atlanta (1980-85), and the Municipal Court of Atlanta (1977-80). A nationally recognized litigator, Rogers served as a founding member of the Emory Law School Council and as president of the Emory Law Alumni Association in 1987-88.

Return to the November 4, 1996 contents page