Math/computer science students honored

Sarah Day (center) received the Trevor Evans Award as the best undergraduate major in 1995-96, and Sergei Pilyugin (right) and John Nardo were co-winners of the Marshall Hall Award for best graduate teaching assistants from the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. Day, a senior, has been invited to participate in the honors program by the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. She plans to attend graduate school in mathematics next year. Pilyugin, a native of St. Petersburg, Russia, works with Professor Paul Waltman on differential equations and their applications to mathematical models in biology. He plans to pursue an academic career after completing his PhD. Nardo works with Professor Jennifer Schultens on problems involving knots and randomness. He also is interested in the use of computing technology in the teaching of mathematics and plans a college teaching career.

The Evans award was established by family and friends of the late Professor Trevor Evans to honor his contribu-tions to mathematics and to Emory. The Hall award was established by Professor Hall, a noted algebraist and combinatorialist, and by his friends and family. Hall came to Emory as Visiting Woodruff Professor in 1984 and remained here until his death in 1990.

Return to the September 16, 1996 contents page