Emory Report

February 16, 1998

 Volume 50, No. 21

Board of Trustees votes
to confirm six new members

The Board of Trustees has voted to confirm six new members, two to begin new terms and four to replace previous members.

Serving six-year terms as alumni-elected trustees are:

Ellen Agnor Bailey
'63C '87EMBA

Currently chief operating officer for Cardiology of Georgia, Bailey continues to be active in the consulting business she established in 1989. She also serves as an officer of Southern Realty Management and Provident Management Corporation in Clearwater, Fla.

Bailey has just completed two terms as president of the Association of Emory Alumni. Her past activities include service on the Oxford Board of Counselors, the business school advisory board, the business school committee for the Emory Campaign and the Board of Visitors. She received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the business school in 1993.

J. Neal Purcell
'61Ox '63B
Purcell joined KPMG Peat Marwick as an accountant in 1963 and was made a partner in 1972. He's served on KPMG's board of directors, spent three years in Seattle as Northwest area managing partner and is currently Southeast area managing partner.

Purcell chaired the 30-year reunion of his Oxford class and Emory's alumni campaign in 1990. He is a charter member of the business school advisory board and a past member of the Board of Visitors. He will serve as the 1998 campaign chairman of the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta.

Appointed to the board to serve out terms
of former members are:

A.W. "Bill" Dahlberg
(replacing T. Marshall Hahn Jr.)
Dahlberg became president of The Southern Company on Jan. 1, 1994, and since then has also been named chairman and chief executive officer. Prior to that he was president and CEO of Georgia Power Co. Born in Atlanta, Dahlberg started at Georgia Power in 1960 as a meter installer while attending night school at Georgia State University.

Dahlberg completed the Executive Management Program at Emory and chairs The Carter Center's Board of Councilors. He chairs the boards of directors for both the Atlanta and Georgia chambers of commerce and was a board member for the Atlanta Committe for the Olympic Games. Dahlberg is a member of the University System of Georgia's Board of Regents.

William Bradley Turner Jr.
(replacing William A. Parker Jr.)
Turner is vice chairman, president and chief operating officer for the W.C. Bradley Co. He is a graduate of the University of Georgia and the Stonier Graduate School of Banking at Rutgers University. Turner is a trustee of the Bradley Turner Foundation Inc., a director of Columbus Bank and Trust Co. and a trustee of the Columbus State University Foundation Inc.

Currently a member of the Columbus Chamber of Commerce and Gridiron Secret Society, Turner is active on the boards of the Metro Columbus Urban League, YMCA and Carpenter's Way Inc.

M. Douglas Ivester
(replacing Roberto C. Goizueta)
Ivester is chairman and chief executive officer of The Coca-Cola Company. Ivester joined Coca-Cola in 1979 as assistant controller and director of corporate auditing. He was elected vice president and controller in 1981, the youngest vice president in the company's history. In January 1985, he was elected chief financial officer at the age of 35. Less than 10 years later, he was named president and chief operating officer.

Ivester is a member of the board of directors for Georgia-Pacific Corp. and the Grocery Manufacturers of America and a regular member of the Conference Board Inc. He also serves on the board of SunTrust Bank-Atlanta and SunTrust Banks of Georgia. He is a member of the boards of trustees for Morehouse College and Brenau University and a former managing trustee of the University of Georgia Foundation. He also serves on the board of the High Museum.

J. David Allen
'66C '70D '75D (replacing James B. Carson)
Allen is the senior and managing partner of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Associates.He received the Emory Dental Alumni Meritorious Service Award in 1990 and was named Dentist of the Year in 1991 by the Atlanta Dental Society. Allen received the Emory Medal in 1994.

He is a founding member of the Association of Emory Alumni Board of Governors, and in 1989-90 he served on the executive committees of the Board of Visitors and the Alumni Fund. He was elected an alumni trustee in 1990 and re-elected in 1993, serving until 1996.

-Michael Terrazas

Return to February 16, 1998 Contents Page