Emory Report

May 30, 2000

 Volume 52, No. 34

Schools present honors to faculty members

By Jan Gleason & Michael Terrazas

The Emory Williams Awards for Distinguished Teaching are the University's oldest awards for teaching, established in 1972 by Emory Williams '32C. Awards in the arts and sciences are determined by a committee of College faculty. Oxford and the business and nursing schools also hand out Emory Williams awards, and one other award rotates among the professional schools.The 2000 Williams winners are:

David Kleinbaum, professor of epidemiology, public health.

Judith Miller, associate professor of history, college.

Patricia Owen-Smith, associate professor of psychology, Oxford.

Deborah Ryan, associate professor (clinical), nursing.

Michael Solomon, associate professor of Spanish, college.

Steven Walton, associate professor of decision and information analysis, business.

Some of the University's schools also give out their own teaching awards. 2000 recipients for these school-based teaching citations include:

Goizueta Business School

BBA Distinguished Educator Award: Steve Walton, assistant professor of decision and information analysis, elected by BBA students.

MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Jan Barton, assistant professor of accounting, as the new (fewer than three years on faculty) winner, and Patrick Noonan, associate professor in the practice of decision & information analysis, as the classic educator, elected by MBA students.

Evening MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Rob Kazanjian, associate professor of organization and management, elected by Evening MBA students.

Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Tom Thomas, professor of organization and management. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, honors teaching quality, course innovation and relevance to real-world problem solving.

Emory College

Center for Teaching and Curriculum Awards for Excellence in Teaching: These awards were instituted to honor excellence in the teaching of Emory undergraduates.

Humanities: Michael Berger, assistant professor of religion

Natural Sciences: Greg Orloff, senior lecturer in biology,

and Evangeline Amanda Starns, lecturer in biology.

Social Sciences: Timothy Dowd, assistant professor of sociology

School of Medicine

Eugene Papageorge Award: John Stone, associate dean of the School of Medicine. This monetary award was established in honor of Evangeline Papageorge, former dean of students.

Law School

Student Bar Association's Most Distinguished Professor: John Witte, Robitscher Professor of Law and Ethics, selected by students.

Rollins School of Public Health

Professor of the Year Award: Azhar Nizam, senior associate in the department of biostatistics, Selected by a panel of students. The award recognizes professors who best exemplify the elements of outstanding classroom instruction.

Thomas F. Sellers Jr. Award for a faculty member who exemplifies the ideals of public health: Deborah McFarland, associate professor of international health and health policy and management. Selected by faculty.

Special Recognition Award:

Mary DeLong, research associate professor in environmental and occupational health department. Selected by students.

Woodruff School of Nursing

Teacher Scholar Award:Virginia Secor, adjunct professor, adult and elder health. Nominated by faculty and students.

Return to May 30, 2000 contents page