Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


May 29, 2001

Faculty honored for work

By Jan Gleason & Stephanie Sonnenfeld


In addition to the Emory Williams Awards, some of the University’s schools also give out their own teaching awards. 2001 recipients for these school-based teaching citations include:

Goizueta Business School
Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Patrick Noonan, associate professor in the practice of decision and information analysis. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, honors teaching quality, course innovation and relevance to real-world problem solving.

BBA Distinguished Educator Award: Allison Burdette, adjunct assistant professor of accounting, elected by BBA students.

MBA Teaching Excellence Award: Robert Kazanjian, associate professor of organization and management, as the classic educator, and David Wessels, assistant professor in the practice of finance, as the new (fewer than three years on faculty) winner, elected by MBA students.

Evening MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Susan Gilbert, associate professor in the practice of finance, elected by Evening MBA students.

Executive MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Joseph F. Porac, professor of organization and management, elected by Executive MBA students.

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence: Andrea Hershatter, lecturer in organization and management, and Nicholas Valerio III, associate professor in the practice of finance.

Emory College
Center for Teaching and Curriculum Awards for Excellence in Teaching: These awards were instituted to honor excellence in the teaching of Emory undergraduates.

Humanities: Bobbi Patterson, senior lecturer, religion.

Natural Sciences: Ray Lamb, lecturer, math and computer science.

Social Sciences: Eugene Winograd, professor, psychology.

School of Medicine
Evangeline Papageorge Award:
Joseph Hardison, professor of medicine. This monetary award was established in honor of Evangeline Papageorge, former dean of students.

School of Law
Student Bar Association's Most Outstanding Professor:
John Witte, Robitscher professor of law and ethics, and Robert Schapiro, associate professor, selected by students.

Ben F. Johnson Faculty Excellence Award: Professors Thomas Arthur and Frank Vandall, selected by faculty and student committee.

Rollins School of Public Health
Professor of the Year Award:
Colleen DiIorio, professor of behaviorial sciences and health education, Rick Crosby, adjunct assistant professor of behaviorial sciences and health education, and Jim Buehler, adjunct assistant professor of epidemiology. Selected by a panel of students. The award recognizes professors who best exemplify the elements of outstanding classroom instruction.

Thomas F. Sellers Jr. Award: Kevin Sullivan, assisstant professor, international health and epidemiology and associate professor, pediatrics. Selected by faculty for a faculty member who exemplifies the ideals of publichealth.

Woodruff School of Nursing
Distinguished Teaching Scholarship Award:
Deborah Ryan, associate professor. Two-year appointment to promote good teaching within the school; will focus on mentoring program for adjunct faculty; selected by a faculty committee.

Teaching Scholar Award: Marcia McDonnell, assistant professor. Nominated by faculty and students.


Back to Emory Report May 29, 2001