Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


May 29, 2001


The retiring members of Emory's faculty, administration and staff were recognized at this year's graduation ceremony. Below are the names and departments of retiring individuals, along with the year they began working at the university.


Faculty & administrators
Andrew Nils Agle, Task Force—Child Survival (1990)
Jack Blanshei, Russian and East Asian Languages (1990)
Hope Bothwell, Office of the Bursar (1990)
Brenda Bynum, Theater Studies (1983)
Woei Ren (David) Chen, Pitts Theology Library (1971)
Johnnetta Cole, Anthropology (1998)
Carol Coogler, Rehabilitation Medicine (1988)
Robert DeHaan, Cell Biology (1973)
Mario DiGirolamo, Medicine (1968)
G. Michael Duffell, Medicine (1967)
William Elmer, Biology (1969)
David Ford, Mathematics and Computer Science (1965)
Michael Fritz, Surgery (1967)
Billy Frye, Chancellor, Interim President, Provost, Dean of the
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (1986)
James Gentry, School of Business (1958)
John Gilbert, Institutional Advancement (1979)
Jackie Gilmer, Association of Emory Alumni (1988)
William Graves, Gynecology and Obstetrics (1965)
James Gustafson, Comparative Studies and Religion (1988)
William Hammonds, Anesthesiology (1975)
Lawrence Inderbitzin, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences (1985)
Roland Ingram Jr., Medicine (1967)
Ronald Johnson, Chemistry (1961)
Richard Long, Institute of Liberal Arts (1986)
Mark Bradley McGarity, Purchasing (1967)
Patton McGinley, Radiation Oncology (1973)
Eugene Malveaux, Radiology (1963)
Robert Milledge, Radiology (1967)
Richard Muth, Economics (1983)
Gilbert Rinard, Physiology (1968)
Hans-Jurgen Ristow, Dermatology (1983)
Stewart R. Roberts Jr., Radiology (1956)
Marianne Scharbo-DeHaan, School of Nursing (1984)
Robert Schlant, Medicine (1958)
Elizabeth Sharp, OBGYN and School of Nursing (1970)
Carl Smith, Anesthesiology (1966)
Yavuz Tarcan, Radiology (1967)
Suzie Tindall, Neurological Surgery (1982)
N. Wendell Todd, Otolaryngology (1984)
Gerald Vogel, Psychiatry (1969)
William Clarence Watson Jr., Task Force—Child Survival (1984)
Thomas Whitesides, Orthopaedics (1962)
Wallace Dean Wilcox, Pediatrics (1980)

Staff (25 or more years of service)

Miriam Allen, Nursing Technician, EUH (1973)
Linda Chiappe, Information Technology (1973)
James Davidson, Information Services, EUH (1968)
Virginia Finlayson, Registered Nurse, EUH (1972)
Elizabeth Green, Environmental Services, EUH (1973)
Robert Hankins, Service Shop Supervisor (1969)
Julia Lois Henderson, Lead Custodian (1972)
Carol Holbert, Employee Health, CLH (1972)
James Lackey, Campus Printing (1956)
Thomasine Mapp, Emergency Services, EUH (1966)
Margaret Martin, Infection Control, EUH (1972)
David McDaniel, Yerkes Regional Primate Research Center (1971)
Sandra Miller, Medicine (1964)
Annie Mitchell, Sterile Processing Technician, EUH (1973)
Jean Mooty, Patient Accounts, EUH (1956)
Clara Joy Rader, Finance, CLH (1957)
Gracie Mae Reese, Environmental Services, CLH (1967)
Lillian (Judy) Roberts, Yerkes (1959)
Betty Stroud, Custodian (1972)
Lillie Watkins, Custodian (1955)
Charlene Willis, Vascular Laboratory CLH (1975)


Back to Emory Report May 29, 2001