Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


January 28, 2002



Nominations sought for 2002 Jefferson Award
Marshall Duke, Candler Professor of Psychology and winner of the 2001 Thomas Jefferson Award, is soliciting nominations for the 2002 award.

Duke chairs the selection committee for the Jefferson Award, given annually to a faculty member for significant service through personal activities, influence and leadership, and presented to the winner at Commencement each May. As specified by the award’s original donor, the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation, the personal and professional qualities of the recipient should be those “which we believe Jefferson would have considered essential to the intellectual, social and political advancement of society.”

The committee has established a two-stage nomination process: a first letter (due
Feb. 4) should identify the nominee as well as seven people, within or outside of Emory, from whom relevant reference may be solicited; a second letter (due March 4) should provide the committee with compelling reasons why the nominee should be selected. A nomination is not complete without both letters.

For more information on the award, contact Tomeca Pearson in the provost’s office at 404-727-7134.


Humanitarian Awards to be given, Jan. 30
The Division of Campus Life is presenting its 14th annual Humanitarian Awards, Jan. 30 at 8 p.m. in Winship Ballroom.

The featured guest speaker will be Tony Braswell, executive director of AID Atlanta

The awards are presented to graduate and undergraduate students who have shown tremendous leadership and made a significant contribution not only to the Emory community but to Atlanta and places beyond.

Admission to the ceremony is free. For more information contact the Divison of Campus Life at 404-727-6169.