Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


September 16, 2002

PCSM introduces new membership

By Stephanie Sonnenfeld

The President’s Commission on the Status of Minorities (PCSM) met for the first time this academic year on Sept. 4 in 400 Administration.

The meeting was dedicated to introducing new members to the role of PCSM and its goals and projects for the upcoming year. Nagueyalti Warren, associate dean of Emory College, is this year’s PCSM chair, and other executive committee members include former chair Brenda Seiton, School of Medicine; Robert Ethridge, Equal Opportunity Programs; Vera Dixon Rorie, Office of Multicultural Programs and Services; Sylvester Hopewell, Equal Opportunity Programs; Brenda Nix, Emory College; and Candace Bacchus, Black Student Alliance. Hopewell is the historical records chair, while Nix is the commission’s secretary. Pamela Denzmore-Nwagbara, Rollins School of Public Health, is staff concerns committee chair; Jody Usher, Office of the President, is conference and events planning chair; and Stanley Taylor is student concerns chair. Other members are:

Dan Adame, Health and P.E.; Anandhi Bharadwaj, Goizueta Business School; Walter Escobar, Biology; Maggie Gilead, School of Nursing; Carl Good, Spanish; Alton Pollard, Candler School of Theology; Torrance Stephens, Rollins School of Public Health; Dianne Stewart, Religion.

Staff: Randall Burkett, University Libraries; Tere Coll-Harris, Financial Aid; Aretina Hamilton, Economics; John Hammond, Goizueta Business School; Jackie Langham, Staging and Special Events; Cheryl Muller, Oxford College; Kara Robinson, Rollins School of Public Health; Donna Wong, Office of Multicultural Programs and Services.

Students: Britt-Marie Cole, Amanda Edwards, Daviana Greenberg, Leslie Hamilton, Matthew Harrison, Cassandra Jones, Juno Lawrence, Victoria Odom, Jeremy Ragland, Christopher Richardson, Ernestino Taricone, Monifa Thomas, Seniboyne Tienabeso, Victoria Tinsley and Jacinta Williams.

PCSM will meet again on Oct. 29 in 400 Administration at 3 p.m.

If you have a question or concern for PCSM, e-mail Nagueyalti Warren at