Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


September 9, 2002


Levy award ceremony to honor top researchers
A seminar and reception to honor the recipients of the 2002 Albert E. Levy Scientific Research Award will be in the Rollins Room of the School of Public Health, Sept. 12 at
4 p.m.

Each year one junior and one senior faculty member are selected by the University Research Committee for recognition of their research and for receipt of a monetary award. Each recpient will give a brief talk presenting their research.

This year’s junior faculty member, Krishna Bhat, assistant professor of cell biology, will deliver his lecture, “Regulation of Asymmetric Division of Neural Stem Cells by Axon Guidance Molecules.”

The senior faculty member, Harriet Robinson, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Micro-biology and Immunology and chief of microbiology and immunology at Yerkes will speak about, “New Hope for an AIDS Vaccine.”

The event is free and open to the public.

Pawliczek named NCAA Woman of the Year
Andrea Pawliczek (’02C) has been chosen as the NCAA Woman of the Year from the state of Georgia. Winners are selected on the basis of academic and athletic accomplishments as well as community service.

Pawliczek, from Lexington, Mass., was picked from a pool that included athletes from all Georgia universities, including Division I schools like the University of Georgia and Georgia Tech.

A two-time All-American goalie on the women’s soccer team and a two-year starter on the women’s basketball team, Pawliczek graduated with a 3.99 GPA and a double major in economics and history.

Pawliczek is one of 51 state winners. From those winners, 10 will be selected
to attend the Nov. 2 banquet where the national winner will be announced.