Emory Report
February 19, 2007
Volume 59, Number 20

Emory Report homepage  

February 19, 2007
Emory students selected for 2007 Bobby Jones Scholarship
BY beverly clark

Four Emory seniors, Robbie Brown, Steven Haag, Caitlin Lyman and Andrew McCrary, have been chosen to receive the Robert T. Jones Jr. Scholarship Award for a year of study at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland. St. Andrews, founded in 1411, is Emory's sister institution.

Widely known as the Bobby Jones Scholarship, the award was established in 1976 and recognizes individuals who will be excellent representatives of Emory at St. Andrews. Qualities required to fulfill this ambassadorship include intellectual excellence, a record of significant leadership, and academic interests that can be pursued through the offerings at St. Andrews. The scholars receive full tuition and a travel stipend for their year of study. In addition, four St. Andrews students are chosen to spend a year at Emory.

BROWN, a history and journalism major from Atlanta, is editor-in-chief of The Emory Wheel. He also founded The Hub, which was named one of the nation's best student-run magazines by Newsweek in its first year. He has served as a resident assistant, interned with the Center for Ethics' servant leadership program, and reported for the Dayton (Ohio) Daily News, Newsweek and The Cape Times in Capetown, South Africa. He will intern with the Boston Globe this summer.

HAAG is from Loveland, Ohio, and will graduate with a dual bachelor and master's degree in history and classical civilization. His master's thesis is a comparative study of Julius Caesar and Ulysses S. Grant, focusing on the role of clemency after civil wars. He was president of the National Senior Classical League, comprising 5,000 collegiate classicists, the Ohio Senior Classical League, the Emory Pre-Law Society and Delta Tau Delta fraternity. He also served as editor of the Emory Political Review. A Robert W. Woodruff Scholar -- the University's highest merit scholarship -- Haag is a representative at large in Emory's Student Government Association.

LYMAN, from Lake Forest, Ill., is a double major in biology and music, and is completing an honors thesis in piano performance this spring. She has participated in fellowships at Emory, including International Research Experience for Science and Problems and Research to Integrate Science & Math, and has served as a resident assistant and sophomore advisor. She studied fish ecology at the University of Konstanz, Germany, geochemistry at the Great Lakes Water Institute on an internship funded by the National Science Foundation, and served her sorority, Kappa Alpha Theta, as scholarship chair.

MCCRARY, from Valdosta, Ga., is a member of the Class of 2007 who received his bachelor of science in biology in December. He was president of his fraternity, Kappa Alpha, a leader in the Intervarsity Christian Fellowship, and a research assistant at Yerkes National Primate Research Center. He also spent 10 weeks last summer in rural villages of Southeast Asia, distributing food, digging wells and supporting small churches.

Recipients are selected by a committee of faculty, administrators and trustees of the Robert T. Jones Committee as well as former Jones scholars. The late Bobby Jones, an internationally renowned golfer, was an Emory School of Law alumnus remembered by those who knew him as an extraordinary man of rare loyalty, compassion and integrity.