Emory Report
July 21, 2008
Volume 60, Number 35



Emory Report homepage  

July 21, 2008
Three new trustees approved

By Eric Rangus

A top administrator at Princeton University, a global leader in investment banking and the head of the world’s largest provider of distribution facilities and services will join Emory’s Board of Trustees this fall.

Rick Rieder
’83B is president/CEO of R3 Capital Partners in New York. Rieder spent 21 years at Lehman Brothers, most recently as managing director and head of global principal strategies. A longtime supporter of urban education in America and abroad, Rieder is chairman of the board at North Star Academy Charter Public School in Newark, N.J., and recently was named to the National Leadership Council for the Communities in Schools Foundation. Rieder, who earned his MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, is a member of Goizueta’s Dean’s Advisory Council and a 2005 recipient of the Goizueta Business School Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award. Rieder’s wife, Debra Leib Rieder ’85B, also is a graduate of Goizueta Business School.

Katherine Rohrer
’74C is vice provost for academic programs at Princeton University. Prior to being named vice provost in 2001, she served for eight years as associate dean of the faculty. An accomplished teacher, Rohrer has served on the faculty of both Princeton and Columbia universities. Following an undergraduate degree in music from Emory, Rohrer earned a master of fine arts degree and doctorate in musicology from Princeton. Rohrer’s ties to Emory run deep. All three of her siblings and both of her parents have Emory degrees. Her father, Robert Rohrer ’39C-’42G, was a professor of physics here. She currently serves on the Emory Alumni Board, is a volunteer with the Emory Alumni Association’s Alumni Admission Network, and previously served on the Arts & Sciences Women’s Council.

Jeffrey Schwartz
’81B, a resident of Denver, is chairman, CEO and a trustee of ProLogis, the largest global provider of distribution facilities and services. Following his graduation from Emory, Schwartz earned an MBA at Harvard. He was the founder and managing partner of the Krauss/Schwartz Company, which was acquired by ProLogis in 1994. Throughout his career, Schwartz has been a strong proponent of sustainable development and has been justly honored. In 2006, Commercial Property News named him “Developer of the Year” and “Industrial Property Executive of the Year.” He received the latter honor once again in 2007. Schwartz’s two brothers and wife, Carole, also are Emory alumni.

The 37-member Board of Trustees oversees the governance and long-range fiduciary health of the University. With the addition of Rieder, Rohrer and Schwartz, the Board of Trustees will include 11 alumni trustees, who serve six-year terms as full board members; term trustees serve six years. Alumni trustee nominees are selected by the Nominating and Leadership Committee of the EAB and submitted to the Board of Trustees via the Governance, Trusteeship, and Nominating Committee for consideration and approval. Final approval rests with the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference of the United Methodist Church.

“These three new trustees represent the wide range of alumni expertise and talent,” says Rosemary Magee ’82PhD, vice president and secretary of the University, who works closely with the Board of Trustees. “They will serve Emory extremely well as we continue on the trajectory of becoming a national and international destination university.”

The Board of Trustees voted on several other action items at its midyear meeting and retreat in June. The board agreed to name Freshman Halls 2 and 3, within Phase Two of the Emory Freshman Residence Hall Complex, after Ignatius Alphonso Few, the first president of Emory College, and Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans, the first woman to serve on Emory’s Board of Trustees. The board also approved site locations for the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Program and Facilities Five-Year Plan, the budget for the Oxford Road Building and parking deck project, and membership for the 2008–09 Board of Visitors.