Emory Report
October 6, 2008
Volume 61, Number 7



Emory Report homepage  

October 6, 2008

Allison Dykes, vice president for alumni relations, and her team at the Emory Alumni Association received a 2008 recognition award from Harris Connect for the Highest Use of Online Giving. Emory is the first recipient of this new award.

Emory also won the Highest Community Connections Adoption for the most users who have added the application to their Facebook profile.

Art Kellermann, of the Department of Emergency Medicine and associate dean for health policy, has been named to the 19-member advisory board of the Georgia Statewide Trauma Action Team, which will educate Georgians about the need for a statewide trauma system.

Separately, Kellermann was a speaker for the motion “Universal health coverage should be the federal government’s responsibility” at Intelligence Squared U.S.’s fall 2008 Oxford-style debate series sponsored by The Rosenkranz Foundation in New York.

Andrew Miller, professor of psychiatry in the School of Medicine, was the recipient of the Norman Cousins Memorial Lecture Award for 2008 from the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society.

Miller was recognized for his contributions to the understanding of how the immune system can influence the brain and behavior.

The PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society is an international organization for researchers in a number of scientific and medical disciplines, who are interested in interactions between the nervous and immune systems, and the relationship between behavior and health.

Fred Sanfilippo, executive vice president for health affairs, CEO of Woodruff Health Sciences Center and chairman of Emory Healthcare, and David Wynes, vice president for research administration, have been named to the board of directors of Georgia Bio, the nonprofit organization that represents the interests of the life science industry in the state.

Sanfilippo and Wynes are among nine new directors named to the organization, which represents 300 pharmaceutical, biotech and medical device companies, universities, research institutes, government groups and other business organizations that develop health care products.