Emory Report
November 23, 2009
Volume 23, Number 11

Winning images

View all of the 2009 Global Health Photography Contest photographs.


Emory Report homepage  

November 23, 2009
Pictures, posters illustrate health challenges around the globe

By Rebecca Baggett

Interdisciplinary collaboration was the theme of the Emory Global Health Institute’s Global Health Scholars Symposium and Global Health Photography Contest Awards Ceremony Nov. 18. Students from across Emory gathered to attend the second annual event, which celebrated the multidisciplinary approach they used to address global health challenges during their fieldwork and provided another opportunity for cross-disciplinary student networking.

The event featured a poster session highlighting the 2009 multidisciplinary global health student projects that the Institute supported, and a panel discussion with Fred Sanfilippo, executive vice president for health affairs, Linda McCauley, dean of the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, and Jay McAuliffe, a senior medical officer at the CDC’s Office for Global Health.

Sanfilippo applauded the interdisciplinary approach evident on the posters created by students from medicine, public health, business, and the undergraduate college working together. “I am also impressed with the life experience and academic impact these projects have had on students, as well as with the array of subject matter studied. I hope this approach becomes a model for the University,” he added.

The Institute’s Global Health Photography Contest literally illustrated the value that the multidisciplinary approach can have on art. Photography provides another way for the global health scholars to view the culture in which they worked, noted contest sponsor Robert Yellowlees.

The 2009 winning photographs were taken by Shannon Aichele, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing; Joan Braithwaite, Rollins School of Public Health; Jeffrey Holzberg, Emory School of Medicine; Shivani Jain, Emory College; and Jeannie Privat, Emory School of Law. The Institute also awarded Honorable Mention Awards to Brian Awsumb, Rollins School of Public Health; Linn Bergander, Rollins School of Public Health; Ezekial Burke, Goizueta Business School; Rebecca Hartz, Rollins School of Public Health; Lindsey Horton, Rollins School of Public Health; Neema Iyer, Rollins School of Public Health; Jenny Jia, Emory College; Lydia Lu, Emory School of Medicine; Megan McCullough, Emory School of Medicine; Rudina Sobkoviak, Rollins School of Public Health; and Rafael Veraza, Rollins School of Public Health as well as to Aichele and Holzberg.