March 29, 2010


Donald Harvey has been elected president of the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association (HOPA).

Harvey, who is director of the Winship Cancer Institute’s Phase I Clinical Trials section and an oncology pharmacist. He is also assistant professor of hematology and medical oncology.

HOPA is an international professional organization dedicated to supporting hematology and oncology pharmacy practitioners in optimizing cancer patient care.

Michael Kloss and Kimberly Miller were top finalists for a national events industry award for the second year in a row. 

Kloss, executive director of university events, and Miller, event manager, were selected as finalists from over 500 nominees for the Spotlight Awards Organizational Event Planner of the Year, in the category which covers schools, hospitals, nonprofits and civic organizations. 

Keith Klugman has been appointed president-elect of International Society for Infectious Diseases. He will assume the society’s position of president in 2012.

Klugman is the William H. Foege professor of global health at Rollins School of Public Health and professor of medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, in the Emory School of Medicine. He also is a visiting researcher, Respiratory Diseases Branch, CDC, and director of the Respiratory and Meningeal Pathogens Research Unit, University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa.

Gary Miller is the recipient of the SOT 2010 Achievement Award for his significant early career contributions to toxicology.

Miller, professor of environmental and occupational health and associate dean for research, Rollins School of Public Health, was honored at the Society of Toxicology meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Lisa Tedesco has been elected to the Executive Committee for 2010 of the Association of Graduate Schools.

Tedesco, dean of the James T. Laney School of Graduate Studies, will serve on the committee for AGS, which is comprised of graduate deans of the Association of American Universities. Tedesco is also vice provost for academic affairs-graduate studies and a professor in Rollins School of Public Health.


“Acclaim” recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishments in the wider community. Emory Report relies on submissions for this section. To submit an accomplishment contact

File Options

  • Print Icon Print