May 17, 2010

Faculty awards

Schools honor top teachers

The Emory Williams Award for Distinguished Teaching is the University’s most prestigious awards for teaching, established in 1972 by alumnus Emory Williams. Presented with Emory Williams Awards at their school diploma ceremonies were:

Luther Smith Jr., professor of church and community, Candler School of Theology; 
Richard Doner, professor of political science, Emory College; 
James Nagy, professor of math and computer science, Emory College;  
Deborah Elise White, associate professor of English and comparative literature, Emory College;  
Consuelo L. Kertz, professor of accounting, Goizueta Business School; 
Charles A. Shanor, professor of law, Emory Law School;
Penelope England, professor of physical education, Oxford College;
Stanley Foster, professor of global health, Rollins School of Public Health; 
J. William Eley, executive associate dean for medical education and student affairs, and the Ada Lee and Pete Correll Teaching Professor of Hematology and Oncology, School of Medicine;
Marcia McDonnell Holstad, assistant professor of nursing, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing.
The following 2010 faculty teaching awards were presented at school diploma ceremonies:

Candler School of Theology

Excellence in Teaching: Rex D. Matthews, associate professor in the practice of historical theology
Faculty Person of the Year: E. Brooks Holifield, Charles Howard Candler Professor of American Church History

Emory College

Distinguished Advising Award: Susan Tamasi, senior lecturer in the program of linguistics

Goizueta Business School

Mark F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Clifton Green, associate professor of finance
Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence: Staff: Lisa Dupre, program coordinator, Alumni Relations & Development; Faculty: Peter Roberts, associate professor of organization and management
Evening MBA Distinguished Core Educator Award: Kathryn Kadous, associate professor of accounting
Evening MBA Distinguished Elective Educator Award: Patrick Noonan, associate professor in the practice of decision & information systems
Modular Executive MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Al Hartgraves, professor of accounting
Weekend MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Shehzad Mian, associate professor of finance
MBA Classic Faculty Award: Ray Hill, assistant professor in the practice of finance
MBA Junior Faculty Award: Ryan Hamilton, assistant professor of marketing
BBA Distinguished Educator Award: Mary Sevier, lecturer in accounting

Rollins School of Public Health

Thomas F. Sellers Jr. Award: Aryeh Stein, associate professor of global health
Student Government Professor of the Year: Patrick Kilgo, senior associate in biostatistics and bioinformatics

School of Law

Most Outstanding Professor: Frank Alexander, professor of law
Ben F. Johnson Teaching Awards: Peter Hay, L.Q.C. Lamar Professor of Law; Nathaniel E. Gozansky, professor of law

School of Medicine

Evangeline Papageorge Teaching Award: Joyce Doyle, associate professor of medicine

File Options

  • Print Icon Print