June 7, 2010


Frances Smith Foster received an honorary degree from State University New York Geneseo and gave the school’s 2010 commence-ment address.
Foster is Charles Howard Candler Professor of English and Women’s Studies at Emory.

Michael M. E. Johns was the recipient of an honorary degree, a doctor of humane letters, from Johns Hopkins University during the school’s May commencement.

Johns is chancellor of Emory University and former executive vice president for health affairs. He was former dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and vice president of that university.

Lloyd Parker has been awarded the second annual Oxford DAR STAR Award for his continued support of the work done by Oxford’s Office of Development and Alumni Relations.

Parker is professor of chemistry. He received a crystal star for “outstanding service in bridging relationships among faculty, staff, students and alumni, and in supporting the events and programs of Oxford DAR through his positive influence, his financial contributions, his leadership, and volunteer spirit.”

Dana Sayre-Stanhope, associate professor and director of Emory’s physician assistant program, was a keynote speaker at the 110th Congress of the Japan Surgical Society, the first physician assistant to be asked to address the organization.

While at the meeting, she was also asked to give a second lecture to the group.

Betty E. Willis has been elected to serve on the Board of Trustees of Leadership Atlanta. Her appointment began June 1.

Willis is Emory’s senior associate vice president, governmental and community affairs. She also serves as Program Committee Chair-elect for 2012 for Leadership Atlanta.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print