September 29, 2010

Distinguished Teaching Scholars named

The Center for Faculty Development and Excellence recently announced the 2010-2011 Distinguished Teaching Scholars.

The Distinguished Teaching Scholars program is designed to honor faculty who are Emory’s leading teachers and create university-wide conversation about pedagogy.

Nominees demonstrate pedagogical leadership at all levels of their field, a long-term commitment to creating and maintaining a dynamic classroom environment at Emory, and a record of engaging students in individual and group situations.

This year's Distinguished Teaching Scholars are:  

Sheila Cavanagh, Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Clifton Green, Goizueta Business School

Hans Grossniklaus, School of Medicine

Marcia Holstad, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Steve Kraftchick, Candler School of Theology

Kay Levine, School of Law

Florian Pohl, Oxford College

Robert Stephenson, Rollins School of Public Health

As intellectual leaders on pedagogy in their individual units, the scholars work with the CFDE to nurture initiatives on teaching, and participate in monthly

“Teaching Tables” to discuss and share best pedagogical practices.  

The program provides a discretionary professional development account for one year, used to support teaching and research activities.  

File Options

  • Print Icon Print

Related Information