October 21, 2010

Acclaim: Arp, Gowler, Morkin and Mulford honored

Meggan Arp

David Gowler

Tracy Morkin

Douglas Mulford

Meggan Arp has been selected as recipient for the “Champion of Integrity Award” by the International Center for Academic Integrity.

Arp is assistant dean in Emory College of Arts and Sciences’ Office of Undergraduate Education.  Her selection was the based on her work with the College’s Honor Council.

David Gowler has been awarded the  2010 Jerry G. Gaff Award for Faculty Excellence by the Association of General and Liberal Studies.

Gowler is Pierce Professor of Religion at Oxford College.

The selection committee cited Gowler for his excellence in teaching and scholarship. Also noted was his leadership in the creation and direction of the Pierce Institute for Leadership and Community Engagement; the founding of Oxford’s Institute for Pedagogy in the Liberal Arts and direction during its first two years; and leadership in the changes to Oxford’s general education program.  
Tracy Morkin and Douglas Mulford were cited for special commendation for their work with the American Chemical Society  student chapter at Emory, which received an Honorable Mention Award by the ACS.

Morkin is a lecturer and Mulford a senior lecturer in the Department of Chemistry. The professors were commended for their efforts in representing the best in undergraduate science education and mentoring.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print

Related Information

  • “Acclaim” recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the weekly “Acclaim” column, contact