December 7, 2010

Acclaim: Lawley, Mansour, Ramalingam and nurses recognized

Thomas Lawley
Thomas Lawley
Kamal Mansour
Kamal Mansour
Suresh Ramalingam
Suresh Ramalingam

Eve Byrd, Adilah Muhammad, Renee Spinks and Mary Still were honored during this year's March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards.

Byrd, nurse practitioner at Wesley Woods Center, was named Nurse of the Year for Advanced Practice Nursing.

Muhammad, clinical staff nurse at the Emory Center for Rehabilitation Medicine, was named Nurse of the Year for Rehabilitation Nursing.

Spinks, clinical nurse specialist in oncology at Emory University Hospital, was named Nurse of the Year for Oncology Nursing.

Still, critical care clinical nurse specialist at Emory University Hospital, was named Nurse of the Year for Critical Care Nursing.

The inaugural awards ceremony recognized nurses who embody leadership, compassion and excellence in patient care across all specialties by the March of Dimes, a leading nonprofit for pregnancy and baby health.

Thomas J. Lawley has been named chair of the Board of Directors of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Lawley is dean of the School of Medicine and William P. Timmie professor of dermatology. Lawley's one-year-term will run until November 2011. He has served as AAMC chair-elect since November 2009.

Kamal Mansour received an award from the Southern Thoracic Surgical Association.

Mansour is professor of thoracic surgery in the School of Medicine.

He received the STSA Inspiration Award in recognition of exceptional efforts in motivating, inspiring and cultivating the clinical and research efforts of upcoming generations of cardiothoracic surgeons.  Mansour is only the second person to receive this award.

Suresh Ramalingam has been awarded a National Cancer Institute Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award. The award includes a two-year, $100,000 grant.

Ramalingam is associate professor of hematology and medical oncology and director of Winship Cancer Institute’s Translational Thoracic Malignancies Program.

The award recognizes clinical investigators who provide critical leadership and support for institutional and multi-center clinical trials.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print

Related Information

  • “Acclaim” recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the weekly “Acclaim” column, contact