Campus News

January 9, 2011

External recognition on the rise

The outstanding scholarship of Emory faculty is internationally recognized.

Below is a sampling of faculty honors in the past year:

•  School of Medicine professor Max Cooper, a Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar, was recognized for his fundamental contributions to immunology with the 2010 Robert Koch Award.

•  Charles Howard Candler Professor of Cardiovascular Nursing Sandra Dunbar was honored with the 2010 Outstanding Nurse Scientist Award by the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science.

•  David Gowler, Pierce Professor of Religion at Oxford College, received the 2010 Jerry G. Gaff Award for Faculty Excellence by the Association of General and Liberal Studies.

•  Emory College chemistry professor Dennis Liotta was named to the American Chemical Society Fellows and inducted into the ACS Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame.

•  Rollins School of Public Health professor Kathleen Miner received the Association of Schools of Public Health/Pfizer Faculty Award for Excellence in Public Health Practice.

•  Luke Timothy Johnson, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of New Testament and Christian Origins at Candler School of Theology, won the 2011 Louisville Grawemeyer Award in Religion, which comes with $100,000, for his book “Among the Gentiles: Greco-Roman Religion and Christianity.”

•  Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing Jagdish Sheth was honored with the Academy of International Business’ Special Recognition Award for contributions to international business education and research.

•  Barbara Bennett Woodhouse, L.Q.C. Lamar Professor of Law, earned the American Political Science Association’s 2009 award for the best book on human rights.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print