Campus News

June 8, 2011

Eagles net tennis trophies

Chris Goodwin captured the 2011 NCAA Division III Men's Singles Tennis Championship

The Oxford women's tennis team.

The French Open just wrapped and Wimbledon is on the way but Emory has some tennis victories of its own to celebrate.

In May, the Oxford women's tennis team won its first national championship, emerging as winners after a week of tough competition.  Emory University junior Chris Goodwin captured the 2011 NCAA Division III Men’s Singles Tennis Championship late in the month, defeating teammate Dillon Pottish.

The Oxford women were among the 38 teams competing in the NJCAA Division III championship series held in Tucson.

It’s Oxford coach Brandon Feldman’s fourth championship, adding to the three national championships won by Oxford men's teams in 2006, 2007 and 2009. Oxford team members are Ayanna Groves, Vyjoo Lakshmipathy, Etasha Srinivas, Adriti Gulati, Hima Nannapaneni and Ngan Do, and the assistant coach is Nick Komljenovic.

Goodwin becomes just the second player in school history to earn the singles crown, joining his older brother Michael who won in 2009.

Goodwin was the No. 4 seed and Pottish the No. 1 seed in the 32-player field at the championships held in Claremont, Calif.  The all-Emory final was the fifth time since 1976, when the D-III Men’s Tennis Singles Championship began, that both players in the final were from the same school.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print