June 24, 2011

Acclaim: Houry, Heilpern, Jackson and Narayan are honored

Debra Houry
Debra Houry

Kate Heilpern
Kate Heilpern

Lawrence P. Jackson
Lawrence P. Jackson

Venkat Narayan
Venkat Narayan

Debra Houry and Kate Heilpern were honored by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Houry was inducted as the president of the 6,500-member organization that seeks to improve patient care by advancing research and education in emergency medicine.

Houry is vice-chair for research and associate professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine in the School of Medicine; the Department of Behavioral Science and Health Education; and Department of Environmental and Occupational Health in the Rollins School of Public Health. She is the director for the Center for Injury Control in the School of Public Health.

Heilpern was honored with the 2011 Society for Academic Emergency Medicine award for the Advancement of Women in Academic Emergency Medicine.

Heilpern is chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine in the School of Medicine. She is a past-president of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine, and serves as a member of the American College of Emergency Physicians Academic Leader Program.

Related: Emory health care heroes shine

Lawrence P. Jackson is a nominee for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award.

Jackson is professor in the department of English and African American studies.

Jackson was nominated for his book, "The Indignant Generation: A Narrative History of African American Writers and Critics, 1934-1960," published by Princeton University Press. The award honors exemplary works of literature before the national community of black writers from categories of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Related: Book|Report podcast with Lawrence P. Jackson

Venkat Narayan has been awarded the 18th Dr. Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre Gold Medal Oration and Distinguished Scientist Award.

Narayan is Hubert Professor of Global Health & Epidemiology, and a professor in the School of Medicine.

Narayan co-directs Emory's Global Diabetes Research Center and the Ovations/National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute Center of Excellence for Cardiometabolic Diseases with partners in India and Pakistan.

Narayan received the award for his extensive diabetes research.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print

Related Information

  • "Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the weekly "Acclaim" column, contact