July 14, 2011

Laney Graduate School dean reappointed through 2016

Lisa A. Tedesco

Dean Lisa A. Tedesco has accepted the invitation from President Jim Wagner and Provost Earl Lewis to extend her term as dean of the Laney Graduate School through Aug. 31, 2016.

Tedesco joined Emory in 2006 as vice provost for academic affairs-graduate studies and dean of the James T. Laney School of Graduate Studies. She is also a professor in the Rollins School of Public Health in the Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education.

Over the last five years, Tedesco led the growth of the Laney Graduate School to include new PhD programs such as Cancer Biology and Environmental Health Sciences and two new master's programs, Bioethics and the Master's in Development Practice.

She worked with colleagues at the Georgia Institute of Technology to expand the doctoral program in Biomedical Engineering to also include China's Peking University. She guided the development of unique professionalization programming such as the Professional Development Support Funds, the Grant Writing Program for students in the humanities and social sciences and a new alumni-student mentor program to help prepare our graduates for life beyond Emory.

Additionally, she established the New Thinkers/New Leaders Fund to promote interdisciplinary scholarship and research across the humanities, social sciences and natural and life sciences.

On the national level, Tedesco is the chair-elect of the Council of Graduate Schools, serves on the executive committee of the AAU Association of Graduate Schools and is chair-elect for the board of the Graduate Record Exam.

File Options

  • Print Icon Print