September 21, 2011

Vega String Quartet fiddles with the classic and the new

Vega String Quartet

The award-winning Vega String Quartet opens the Emory Chamber Music Society of Atlanta's Emerson Series on Sunday, Sept. 25 at 4 p.m. Known for its cutting-edge performances, the quartet's program includes an original composition of 13 fiddle tunes;  Haydn's "String Quartet in B Minor;" and Brahms' "String Quartet in C Minor."

The fiddle tunes are the work of Atlanta native David Kirkland Garner. "i ain't broke (but i'm badly bent)," written in 2009, is a result of Garner's experimentation with bluegrass banjo and draws on American and Celtic fiddle tradition. Vega's performance will be the Atlanta premiere of this rising composer's work.

This fall Vega String Quartet welcomes newly appointed first violin Domenic Salerni and celebrates a generous grant from the Abraham J. and Phyllis Katz Foundation to continue their tenure as Emory's quartet in residence for another five years.

This performance is part of the 2011-2012 Emory Chamber Music Society of Atlanta season. Vega String Quartet will perform at the Schwartz Center for Performing Arts. For event details, visit

File Options

  • Print Icon Print