Index Find Help Find Sites Find Jobs Find People Find Events

Release date:
May 11, 2001
Contact: Deb Hammacher, Assistant Director, 404-727-0644, or

Emory University Commencement May 14 For 3,200+ Graduates

For the first time, this year's Emory University graduates will hear brief speeches from the honorary degree recipients at commencement on Monday, May 14. In addition, Deborah Lipstadt, Dorot Professor of Holocaust and Jewish Studies at Emory, was selected by students from the class of 2001 to give an address at the 8 a.m. ceremony. The central ceremony will be followed by individual college and school diploma ceremonies. The ceremony will be broadcast live and then archived via the Internet at

Emory President William M. Chace will preside at the 90-minute ceremony, which will take place on the Emory quadrangle for approximately 3,265 graduating students and their families.

The academic procession under the direction of Chief Marshal Ray DuVarney, professor of physics, will be led across the university's historic quadrangle by the kilt-clad Atlanta Pipe Band. Dressed in full Scottish Highland attire, the bagpipe ensemble will march to "Emory and Old St. Andrews March," written by Emory alumnus Henry D. Frantz Jr. in honor of Emory's sister university, the University of St. Andrews in Scotland. The Atlanta Symphony Brass Quintet will alternate with the pipe band.

Members of the procession will be dressed in the academic regalia of caps, gowns and hoods adopted by the class of 1902. Depending on their field of study, the hoods of graduates will be scarlet, gold, purple, salmon, sapphire, apricot, white, green or dark blue.

Honorary degrees will be conferred upon four individuals in recognition of outstanding contributions to their respective arenas. They are: Palestinian Catholic priest and three-time Nobel Peace Prize-nominee Elias Chacour, former Emory Board of Trustees Chairman Bradley Currey, South African constitutional court Justice Richard Goldstone and award-winning international journalist Charlayne Hunter-Gault.

The Thomas Jefferson Award, the university's premier faculty/administrative officer award for significant service to the institution, and the University Scholar/Teacher Award, given on behalf of the United Methodist Church Board of Higher Education and Ministry, will be presented. The Marion Luther Brittain Award, the most prestigious student award for service to the university, also will be presented.

Following the central ceremony, students will report to various locations on campus to receive diplomas from their individual schools. The diploma ceremony for Emory College (the undergraduate arts and sciences school) will be held on the quadrangle.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Please contact Deb Hammacher at 404-727-0644 for information regarding press registration, parking and rain plans if you are planning to cover Emory's commencement and have not already received the specific information earlier this week.


Return to Commencement

Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index

Copyright © Emory University
Atlanta, GA 30322
For more information contact: