Sheth Distinguished Lecture

Titled, “Creativity in Later Life”, the Sheth Distinguished Lecture is named in honor of Dr. Jagdish and Mrs. Madhuri Sheth whose generous donation made this annual event possible.

Each year since 2004, a speaker of outstanding quality is invited to present during a lunch attended by emeriti, active faculty, and others with special interest in the topic. The speaker is selected and invited by Emeritus College's Teaching and Lecturing Committee who also hosts the event. Dr. Sheth is the Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing at Goizueta Business School.  You may watch videos of the lectures by clicking on the name of the speaker.

Past Speakers

2015: Brenda Bynum was a Resident Artist and member of the Emory College Department of Theater Studies before her retirement in 2000.  She has been an actor and director in Atlanta since 1973, working primarily at the Alliance Theater. 

2014: The Reverend Dr. Don E. Saliers is William R. Cannon Distinguished Professor of Theology and Worship, Emeritus. Dr. Saliers is a theologian specializing in homiletics and liturgics. He retired from Emory University in 2007. 

2013: Mike Luckovich, Editorial Cartoonist for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning in 1995 and 2006

2012: Robert Spano, Emory University Distinguished Artist in Residence and Music Director for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

2011: Robert Paul, Former Dean, Emory College, Candler Professor of Anthropology & Interdisciplinary Studies

2010: Elizabeth Kiss, President of Agnes Scott College, former founding director of the Kenan Institute for Ethics at Duke University

2009: Natasha Trethewey, Professor of English and Phillis Wheatley Distinguished Chair at Emory and Pulitzer Prize winning poet

2008: Susan Allen, Professor of Global Heath at Rollins School of Public Health, Founder and Director of the Rwanda Zambia HIV Research Group

2007: Frans de Waal, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Psychology at Emory, Director of the Living Links at the Yerkes National Primate Research Center

2006: President Jimmy Carter, 39th President of the United States, Nobel Peace Prize winner, and founder of The Carter Center

2005: William Foege, Professor Emeritus of Rollins School of Public Health, former Director of the Centers for Disease Control, Health Policy Fellow and former Executive Director of the Carter Center

2004: James T. Laney, President Emeritus of Emory University, former ambassador to South Korea