Religious Holidays - Academic Year 2012 - 2013

Candles at a religious service

The following information is provided by the Office of the Dean of the Chapel & Religious Life (website).   For a more exhaustive list of religious traditions through 2019 visit www.interfaithcalendar.org

For your information, these are the dates of major Christian, Jewish and Muslim holidays which will occur while the University is in session during the academic year of 2012 - 2013. These are provided in order that you may know of potential schedule conflicts involving large numbers of students. All students are responsible for negotiating their needs around religious practices with the professor.

Jewish holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given.

Muslim holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given. Muslim holidays are based on a lunar calendar, and the actual dates are determined by direct observation of the moon and announced by the mosque. (The most observant Muslims will observe all days; others may observe the first two days of Eid-al-Fitr and Eid-al-Ahda.)

Date Holiday Religion
Friday, July 20, 2012 First Day of Ramadan Muslim
Sunday, August 19, 2012 Eid-al-Fitr Muslim
Mon., Sept. 17 -Tues., Sept. 18, 2012 Rosh Hashanah Jewish
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 Yom Kippur Jewish
Mon., Oct. 1 - Tues. Oct. 2, 2012 Sukkot, first two days Jewish
Monday, October 8, 2012 Simchat Azteret Jewish
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 Simchat Torah Jewish
Tues., Oct. 16 -Wed., Oct. 24, 2012 Navaratri Hindu
Saturday, October 20, 2012 Birth of the Bab Baha'i
Wednesday, October 24, 2012 Dussehra Hindu
Friday, October 26, 2012 Eid-al-Adha Muslim
Monday, November 12, 2012 Birth of Bahá'u'lláh Baha'i
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 Diwali Hindu
Sun., Dec. 9 - Thu., Sun. 16, 2012 Hanukkah Jewish
Tuesday, December 25, 2012 Christmas Christian
Wednesday, February 13, 2013 Ash Wednesday Christian
Sunday, February 24, 2013 Purim Jewish
Tues., March 26- Wed., March 27, 2013 Passover, first two days Jewish
Friday, March 29, 2013 Good Friday Christian
Sunday, March 31, 2013 Easter Christian
Mon., April 1 - Tues., April 2, 2013 Passover, last two days Jewish
Sunday, April 21, 2013 Ridvan Baha'i