Free Webinar with 1.5 AAMA CEUs - Introduction to FASDs - The Medical Assistants Role

27 Jun 2017

Introduction to FASDs: The Medical Assistant's Role

Introduction to Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders: The Medical Assistant’s Role


Tuesday, June 27, 2017
11:00-12:30pm PT / 12:00-1:30pm MT / 1:00-2:30pm CT / 2:00-3:30pm ET

Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD) is an umbrella term used to describe the range of effects that can be caused by exposure to alcohol in utero, including growth deficiencies, facial abnormalities, central nervous system impairment, behavioral disorders, and impaired intellectual functioning. Medical Assistants can play a role in preventing alcohol-exposed pregnancies by being part of medical team that screens every woman of reproductive age for alcohol use. Medical assistants also serve as a bridge between patients and clinicians and can help patients feel more comfortable talking about their alcohol use. This webinar is intended for medical assistants, healthcare providers who work with medical assistants, and others who want to learn more about FASDs and how improved communication skills can reduce stigma and help patients discuss their alcohol use with their healthcare provider.

By the end of this webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Discuss the lifelong effects of FASDs.
  • Become familiar with how FASDs are diagnosed and why early intervention is important.
  • Describe screening techniques to determine who is at risk for an alcohol-exposed pregnancy.
  • Identify ways to improve communication with patients about their alcohol use.


​Registration link: