New Marshall Scholar is Emory's fourteenth

Shivani Jain 11C was awarded the 2011 Marshall Scholarship for graduate study in England, the second consecutive Emory student to receive the scholarship and the fourteenth overall. Jain plans to study global health and economic development, health policy, and infectious disease control in London and Cambridge.

Pharmacology chair elected to Institute of Medicine

The Institute of Medicine has elected Raymond Dingledine, executive associate dean for research and professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacology, to its new class of sixty-five leading health scientists. Dingledine’s election brings Emory’s total IOM membership to twenty-two.

Professor Nanette Wenger named Georgia Woman of the Year

Nanette Wenger, professor of medicine in the Division of Cardiology, was awarded the 2010 Georgia Woman of the Year by the Georgia Commission on Women. Wenger, former chief of cardiology at Grady Memorial Hospital, is an internationally known expert on coronary heart disease in women.

Debate team is number one

Emory’s Barkley Forum debate team ranked number one in national intercollegiate varsity debate at the close of the fall semester. Seniors Ovais Inamullah 11C and Stephen Weil 11C were invited to the Dartmouth Round Robin Tournament in January, marking Emory’s seventeenth consecutive year of participation.

Microneedle grant may ease the pain of flu shots

The National Institutes of Health has awarded $10 million to the Georgia Institute of Technology, Emory, and PATH, a Seattle-based nonprofit organization, to advance a technology for the painless self-administration of flu vaccine using patches containing tiny microneedles that dissolve into the skin.

National Cancer Institute award to WCI oncologist

Suresh Ramalingam, a medical oncologist at the Winship Cancer Institute, has been awarded a National Cancer Institute Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award, a $100,000 grant recognizing clinical investigators at NCI-designated cancer centers who provide leadership and support for institutional and multicenter clinical trials.

Keeping teen dating relationships violence free

Start Strong Atlanta announced the launch of a social networking site for teens where they can build skills for healthy relationships and learn that relationship violence is never acceptable. Start Strong Atlanta was created in 2008 by the Jane Fonda Center at Emory with $1 million from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Professor of global health receives Royal Society award

The Royal Society of South Africa has awarded Keith Klugman the 2011 John F. W. Herschel Medal, the top science award in South Africa. Klugman is the William H. Foege Professor of Global Health in the Rollins School of Public Health and is a leading expert on antibiotic resistance in pneumococcus, the leading cause of bacterial pneumonia.

Three nursing leaders named American Academy of Nursing fellows

Susan Grant, chief nursing officer at Emory Healthcare; Mary Gullatte, associate chief nursing officer at Emory University Hospital Midtown; and Lynn Sibley, associate professor at Emory’s Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, were recently inducted into the American Academy of Nursing.

Emory director elected president of Infectious Diseases Society

James Hughes, professor of medicine and of global health, has been elected president of the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Hughes is the first president who has come primarily from the field of public health. At Emory, he serves as executive director of the Southeastern Center for Emerging Biologic Threats and director of the Program in Global Infectious Diseases.

Emory University Hospital named one of nation’s top hospitals

For the thirteenth year, Emory University Hospital has been recognized as one of the nation’s top hospitals by the National Research Corporation’s Consumer Choice Awards. The award identifies hospitals chosen by health care consumers as having the highest quality and image in more than three hundred markets.

First R. Randall Rollins Chair in Oncology selected

The O. Wayne Rollins Foundation has established the R. Randall Rollins Chair in Oncology in the School of Medicine with a gift of $2 million. H. Jean Khoury, professor of hematology and medical oncology and director of the Division of Hematology, has been chosen as the first Rollins Chair, which supports a focus on patient care and cancer research.

Email the Editor

Share This Story