Men's, women's swim teams compete in national championship

A pair of top-15 team finishes by Emory highlighted the NCAA Division III national men's and women's swimming championships hosted by Emory on consecutive weekends in March.

Emory finished ninth in the team standings at the women's championships, marking the eighth time in nine years that the Eagles have placed in the top 10 at the nationals. In the men's championships, Emory came in 12th place, its highest finish since a ninth-place showing in 1991.

A total of nine Emory swimmers attained All-America honors in the two championship meets. Senior Peter Hosmer of Sarasota, Fla.; junior Jacki Lin of Jacksonville, Fla.; and freshman Tracey Pavlishin of Valrico, Fla.; each earned All-America distinction in two individual events and one relay event.

Hosmer and Lin combined for a rare feat when each became an All-American in the same individual event, the 100-yard backstroke, only the second time in school history that has been accomplished at a men's meet. Hosmer finished fifth in the event, while Lin was seventh, despite entering the race as the 26th seed among 27 competitors.

Hosmer later came in fourth in the 200-yard backstroke to close his college career as a five-time All-American. Lin set a school record on the way to a seventh-place effort in the 100-yard butterfly. The two teamed with junior Charlie Atwater of Durham, N.C., and sophomore Steve Brandt of Hannibal, Mo., on the All-America 400-yard medley relay.

Pavlishin was sixth in the 400-yard individual medley and eighth in the 100-yard breaststroke and swam on the Eagles' eighth-place 200-yard medley relay.

Other Emory swimmers who received All-America recognition in relay events were senior Laurie Speed of Signal Mountain, Tenn.; sophomore Tracy Johnson of Omaha, Neb.; sophomore Roberta Challener of Shaker Heights, Ohio; and freshman Cammie Pickett of Virginia Beach, Va.

These were the 11th and 12th national swimming championships hosted by Emory since 1983. Approximately 220 athletes from 80 schools across the nation attended each championship meet.

-- John Arenberg

Return to the April 1, 1996 contents page