Commencement 2009: Highlights and Stories

Emory University celebrated its 164th commencement exercises on May 11, 2009.

Vicente Fox Quesada
Commencement Speaker

Diplomat, collaborator, visionary
Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Emory enjoys several partnerships with Mexico's former president, Vicente Fox Quesada, and Centro Fox, the first presidential library and center of its kind in that country.

Awards and Honors

More videos

brittain award
mcmullan award

Brittain Award: Nicolai Lundy


McMullan Award: Monique Dorsainvil

class of 09
students and parents

Reflecting on the Emory experience: Students of the Class of 2009

  Reflecting on the Emory experience: Students & Parents

Brittain Award

The Marion Luther Brittain Award is presented to a graduate who has demonstrated exemplary service to both the university and the greater community without expectation of recognition.

The 2009 recipient, Nicolai Lundy, is a dedicated athlete and a leader in his fraternity. Lundy led the effort resulting in the R. Howard Dobbs Foundation awarding $150,000 to an endowed fund for need-based leadership grants for members of Alpha Tau Omega. Lundy also founded Greeks Go Green, a multi-year effort to educate students on the importance of sustainability.

McMullan Award

The Lucius Lamar McMullan Award is given to a graduating senior who exhibits "outstanding citizenship, exceptional leadership and potential for service to his or her community, the nation and the world."

The 2009 recipient, Monique Dorsainvil, calls herself a "scholar activist" who has critically examined issues through scholarship while furthering the work to determine its real-world impact.

Faculty Distinction

Each year at Commencement, Emory honors faculty members for exceptional teaching, research and mentoring.

Martha A. Fineman, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of Law, is the 2009 University Scholar/Teacher Award recipient, chosen by Emory faculty on behalf of the United Methodist Church Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

Kenneth W. Stein, William E. Schatten Professor of Contemporary Middle Eastern History, Political Science and Israeli Studies, is the 2009 recipient of the George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring, established in 1997 by trustee John T. Glover.

Seven Emory professors are honored as recipients of the Emory Williams Award for Distinguished Teaching, the university's most prestigious awards for teaching. Goizueta Business School, Oxford College and Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing each present an award for excellence in undergraduate teaching, and one other award rotates among the professional schools.

Additional coverage

Commencement 2009 / Emory on iTunes U

Emory Report Commencement Issue / May 2009 (PDF 2.2MB)

EAAvesdropping / Emory Alumni Association blog

University news releases