Commencement 2010: Highlights and Stories

Emory University celebrated its 165th commencement exercises on May 10, 2010.

The graduation ceremony, rich with pageantry and tradition, offers a unique expression of university values, including academic commitment and integrity, citizenship, leadership, service, and exceptional teaching, research and mentoring.

California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger
165th Commencement Speaker

Governor, Athlete, Actor
Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger delivered the keynote address at Emory University's 165th commencement ceremony Monday, May 10. He received an honorary doctor of laws degree.

YouTube video (right): Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger's address at Emory

Four other individuals were also recognized during commencement with honorary degrees:

  • Donald M. Berwick, M.D., president and CEO of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, and one of the nation's leading authorities on health care quality and improvement, received a doctor of science degree;
  • Award-winning author Melissa Fay Greene, received a doctor of letters degree;
  • The Rev. Dr. Joseph Lowery, longtime civil rights leader, received a doctor of divinity degree; and
  • Former World Bank president James D. Wolfensohn, chairman of Wolfensohn & Company, LLC, received a doctor of humane letters degree.

Brittain Award

The Marion Luther Brittain Award, Emory's highest student honor, is presented to a graduate who has demonstrated exemplary service to both the university and the greater community without expectation of recognition.

The 2010 recipient is Alex Kappus. The outgoing Student Government Association president graduates with a track record of outstanding scholarship, leadership and service. In this YouTube video (right), Kappus shares insights about his experiences at Emory.

McMullan Award

The Lucius Lamar McMullan Award, which comes with $20,000, is given to a graduating senior who exhibits "outstanding citizenship, exceptional leadership and potential for service to his or her community, the nation and the world."

The 2010 recipient is Scot Seitz. Exceptional scientific research and engaged scholarship, combined with a dedication to community building, defined his undergraduate years. In this YouTube video (right), Seitz shares insights about his experiences at Emory.

Faculty Distinction

Each year at Commencement, Emory honors faculty members for exceptional teaching, research and mentoring.

The University Scholar/Teacher Award recipient is chosen by Emory faculty on behalf of the United Methodist Church Board of Higher Education and Ministry.

The Thomas Jefferson Award is presented to a faculty member or administrative officer in recognition of significant service to the university through personal activities, influence and leadership.

The George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring was established in 1997 by trustee John T. Glover.

Seven Emory professors are honored as recipients of the Emory Williams Award for Distinguished Teaching, the university's most prestigious awards for teaching. Goizueta Business School, Oxford College and Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing each present an award for excellence in undergraduate teaching, and one other award rotates among the professional schools.

Additional coverage

University news releases

Emory Report