Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


June 25, 2001

PCSW announces new members, officers

By Stephanie Sonnenfeld


The President’s Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) presented its slate of new members and officers at its final meeting of the 2000–01 academic year on May 3 in 400 Administration.

All nominations were approved, including officer positions: chair Kathy Reed, chair-elect Beth Seelig and secretary Kim Smith. New commission members also include:

• Susan Gilbert, associate professor, Goizueta Business School (three-year term).
• Alternates (one-year terms): Elizabeth Bonney, assistant professor, School of Medicine; Marietta Collins, assistant professor, psychiatry; Jon Herold, professor, School of Public Health.

• Shirley Banks, health educator, University Health Services (three-year term).
• Caroline Moise, director of alumni relations and capital projects, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences (three-year term).
• Amy Wheeler, program associate/assistant editor, School of Law (three-year term).
• Kim Smith, administrator, School of Medicine (two-year term).
• Elaine Gossett, human resources, Facilities Management (one-year term).

Alternates (one-year term): Lisa DeMik, area director, Residence Life; Mary Loftus, associate editor, Emory Magazine; Denise Spiker, administrative assistant, provost’s office.

Students (all students serve one–year terms)
Professional School Students
• Jessica Boar, Brynne Klasky, School of Law.
• Alternates: Jaclyn Jacobs, School of Law; Siham Mumtasser, School of Medicine; Kelli Zappas, School of Law.

Graduate Students
• Kirsten Ernst, School of Nusing/Public Health;
Melanie Styers, biochemistry.
• Alternates: none.

• Lauren Gunderson, Monique Nugent, Kathryn Smith, Linsay Warren.
• Alternates: Tiffany Brown, Michelle Cohen, Nikki Hudak, Sarita Narson.

In other business, outgoing chair Deb Floyd presented awards to PCSW committee chairs and members, while the commission, in turn, gave Floyd an award of thanks and a gift. Chair-elect Reed updated the group on its 25th anniversary celebration held in April and announced the commission’s tree planting project at the new childcare center near University Apartments, which will commemorate
the anniversary.

The group will meet again at the beginning of the 2001–02 school year and continue to meet at its regularly scheduled time of 3:30 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month in 400 Administration.

If you have a question or concern for PCSW, contact Kathy Reed at


Back to Emory Report June 25, 2001