Find Events Find People Find Jobs Find Sites Find Help Index


May 28, 2002

Faculty honored for work with Williams awards, school awards

From staff reports

The Emory Williams Awards for Distinguished Teaching are the University's oldest awards for teaching, established in 1972 by Emory Williams '32C. This year's winners include: Rose Cannon (nursing), Andrea Hershatter (business); Cathryn Johnson (Emory College), Steven L'Hernault (Emory College), Sally Radell (Emory College), Susan Riner (Oxford) and John Witte (law).

In addition to the Emory Williams Awards, some of the University’s schools also give out their own teaching awards. 2002 recipients for these school-based teaching citations include:

Goizueta Business School
Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Steve Walton, assistant professor of decision and information analysis. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, honors teaching quality, course innovation and relevance to real-world problem solving.

BBA Distinguished Educator Award: Allison Burdette, adjunct assistant professor of accounting, elected by BBA students.

MBA Teaching Excellence Award: Al Hartgraves, professor of accounting, and Patrick Noonan, associate professor in the practice of decision & information analysis.

Executive MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Robert Kazanjian, associate professor of organization and management, and L.G. Thomas, professor of organization and management; elected by Executive MBA students.

Evening MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Richard Makadok, assistant professor of organization & management.

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence: Robert Drazin, associate professor of organization and management, and Nancy Roth Remington, executive director of international programs and faculty director of MBA travel/study module, “Business in China,” elected by MBA students.

Emory College
Center for Teaching and Curriculum Awards for Excellence in Teaching: Joel Bowman, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Theoretical Chemistry; Matthew Payne, associate professor of history; Judy Raggi Moore, senior lecturer in Italian. These awards were instituted to honor excellence in the teaching of Emory undergraduates.

School of Medicine
Evangeline Papageorge Award: Jonas Shulman, executive associate dean for Medical Education and Student Affairs. This monetary award was established in honor of Evangeline Papageorge, former dean of students.

School of Law
Student Bar Association's Most Outstanding Professor: James Hughes, associate professor in law, specializing in the areas of property, real estate sales and finance and professional responsibility.

Rollins School of Public Health
Professor(s) of the Year Award: Roger Rochat, epidemiology and international health, Kimberly Sessions, behavioral sciences and health education, and Jim Setzer, international health all received the Professor of the Year Award, given by students to outstanding faculty members who demonstrate leadership, a genuine concern for students, and a sense of academic excellence.

Thomas F. Sellers Award: Stanley Foster, international health, received this award for support of faculty colleagues in public health.

Woodruff School of Nursing
Distinguished Professor In Teaching Award: Darla Ura, associate professor (clinical).

Teaching Scholar Award: Joyce Murray, professor.