May 27, 2003

Faculty honored for work

From staff reports

In addition to the Emory Williams Awards (see story), some of the University’s schools also give out their own teaching awards. 2003 recipients for these school-based teaching citations include:

Goizueta Business School
Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching:
Susan Gilbert, associate professor of finance. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, honors teaching quality, course innovation and relevance to real-world problem solving.

BBA Distinguished Educator Award: Allison Burdette, assistant professor of business law practice, elected by BBA students.

MBA Teaching Excellence Award: Jan Barton, assistant professor of accounting; and Kristy Lynne Towry, assistant professor of accounting.

Executive MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Robert Kazanjian, associate professor of organization and management, elected by Executive MBA students.

Evening MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Richard Makadok, assistant professor of organization & management.

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence: Joanna Green, director of finance and administration; and Greg Waymire, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Accounting.

Emory College
Center for Teaching and Curriculum Awards for Excellence in Teaching:
Leroy Davis, associate professor of history; Nancy Marshall, lecturer of visual arts, and José de Jesús Soria, lecturer of chemistry.

School of Medicine
Evangeline Papageorge Award:
John Pooler, associate professor in physiology. This monetary award was established in honor of Evangeline Papageorge, former dean of students.

School of Law
Student Bar Association’s Most Outstanding Professor:
John Witte, Jonas Robitscher Professor of Law.

Rollins School of Public Health

Professor(s) of the Year Award: Lance Waller, associate professor of biostatistics; Martha Alexander, adjunct professor of behavioral science and health education; and Melvin Meyers, adjunct professor of environmental health, all received the Professor of the Year Award, given by students to outstanding faculty members who demonstrate leadership, a concern for students and a sense of academic excellence.

Thomas F. Sellers Award: Reynaldo Martorell, Woodruff Professor of International Nutrition.