May 24, 2004

Faculty honored for work


From staff reports

In addition to the Emory Williams Awards (see story) some of the University’s schools also give out their own teaching awards. 2004 recipients for these teaching citations include:

George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring: Judith Campbell Rohrer, associate professor of Art History. This award was first presented in 1997 in honor of Cuttino, a professor of medieval history and carries a cash prize.

Goizueta Business School:
Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Douglas Bowman, associate professor of marketing. The award, which carries a $10,000 prize, honors teaching quality, course innovation and relevance to real-world problem solving.

BBA Distinguished Educator Award: Reshma Shah, assistant professor of marketing, elected by BBA students.

MBA Teaching Excellence Award: Al Hartgraves, professor of accounting; and Kristy Lynne Towry, assistant professor of accounting.

Modular Executive MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Richard Makadok, associate professor of organization and management, and Shehzad Mian, associate professor of finance, elected by Executive MBA students.

Weekend Executive MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Shehzad Mian, associate professor of finance, elected by Executive MBA students.

Evening MBA Distinguished Educator Award: Patrick Noonan, associate
professor of decision and information analysis.

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence: Maria Radulovic, Executive MBA administrative director; and Conseulo Kertz, professor of accounting.

Emory College
Center for Teaching and Curriculum Awards for Excellence in Teaching:
Robert Bartlett, associate professor of political science; Dorothy Fletcher, art history senior lecturer; and Matthew Weinschenk, chemistry lecturer.

School of Medicine
Evangeline Papageorge Award:
Nanette Wenger, professor of medicine. This monetary award was established in honor of Evangeline Papageorge, former dean of students.

School of Law
Student Bar Association’s Most Outstanding Professor:
Frank Alexander, professor, selected by students.

Ben F. Johnson Faculty Excellence Award: Robert Schapiro, professor, selected by faculty and student committee.

Rollins School of Public Health
Professor(s) of the Year Award:
Robert Johnson, adjunct professor of environmental and occupational health; Richard Sanders, adjunct assistant professor of health policy and management; and Nancy Thompson, associate professor of behavioral science and health education, all received Professor of the Year awards, given by students to outstanding faculty members who demonstrate leadership, a concern for students and a sense of academic excellence.

Thomas F. Sellers Award: Rafael Flores, research associate professor of international health.