AAAS Selects Four Emory Faculty as Members

Sander Gilman, Kevin Young, Carol Newsom, Melvin Konner

Four Emory faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), one of the country's oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers.

Those elected from Emory this year are Sander L. Gilman, professor of psychiatry; Melvin J. Konner, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Anthropology and Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology; Carol A. Newsom, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Old Testament in Candler School of Theology; and Kevin L. Young, Charles Howard Candler Professor of English and Creative Writing.

Gilman is a cultural and literary historian, and the author or editor of more than 90 books. His research interests encompass the history of medicine, history of psychiatry, Jewish cultural studies, visual studies, European comparative literary studies, and cultural history.

Konner holds appointments in Emory’s Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology program and its Tam Institute for Jewish Studies. His pioneering research explores the links between biology and human behavior, medicine and society, and nature and culture. He spent two years among the !Kung San (Bushmen) of the Kalahari, an experience that helped inform the first book about the Paleo diet.

Newsom serves as a senior fellow at Emory’s Center for the Study of Law and Religion. Her research focuses on the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Wisdom tradition, the book of Daniel, apocalyptic literature, and theology and the environment.

Young is author of 11 award-winning books of poetry and prose, including most recently, Blue Laws: Selected & Uncollected Poems, 1995–2015. His other poetry collections include Book of Hours, a finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award and winner of the Lenore Marshall Prize for Poetry from the Academy of American Poets.

Email the Editor

Share This Story