Campus News

January 7, 2011

National academies tap Emory faculty

Emory’s commitment to strengthening faculty distinction has led to an increase in the number of faculty elected to national academies. Faculty who have been elected to national academies over the last five years include:

Institute of Medicine

Raymond Dingledine, professor and chair of department of pharmacology; executive associate dean for research, School of Medicine

Helen Mayberg, Dorothy C. Fuqua Chair of Psychiatric Neuroimaging and Therapeutics; professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and neurology, School of Medicine

Linda McCauley, dean, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Walter Orenstein, assistant professor of medicine, School of Medicine; associate director, Emory Vaccine Center; director, Emory Program for Vaccine Policy and Development; program director for operations management and initiatives, influenza pathogenesis and immunology research center, SOM/University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine

Barbara Stoll, George W. Brumley Jr. Professor of Pediatrics; chair, department of pediatrics; president and chief executive officer, Emory-Children’s Center; medical director of Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta at Egleston

American Academy of Arts and Sciences   

Mahlon Delong, William Patterson Timmie Professor of Neurology, School of Medicine; associate faculty, department of neuroscience

Shoshana Felman, Robert Woodruff Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature and French

Earl Lewis, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs; Asa Griggs Candler Professor of History and African American Studies

Jim Wagner, president, Emory University

National Academy of Sciences

•  Rafi Ahmed, professor of microbiology and immunology; director, Emory Vaccine Center; and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar

American Philosophical Society

• Frans de Waal, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Primate Behavior; professor of psychology; director, Living Links Center, Yerkes National Primate Research Center (Also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; and the National Academy of Science)

File Options

  • Print Icon Print